Planning to visit Europe in 2023? You may need an ETIAS travel guide – TripIt Blog

New data from TripIt shows about a third of Americans travel to Europe for the anniversary weekend – and that’s just the start of the summer travel season. In fact, the incidence of disease is declining, and more and more people are returning to Europe for personal and business trips.

But there will soon be a new demand for such promotional trips to Europe. Starting next year, many non -European nationals, including Americans, will need to apply for and obtain a waiver visa – i.e., an ETIAS travel authority – in order to visit.

Haven’t heard of an ETIAS travel permit, or are unsure of the process for applying for one? Never mind! You can find all the details you need to know, below.

What is ETIAS?

The European Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS, is a visa issuance program developed by the European Union (EU). The program was set up with the goal of protecting the Schengen Area – that is, 26 European countries that have adopted a standard visa policy and eliminated the need for a passport or border control between them – from foreigners coming in from abroad. By requiring foreigners to register, the EU can better understand the threats or problems facing tourists coming to the country.

By the start of 2023, all foreigners – that is, tourists and business travelers – will no longer need a visa to enter Europe to apply for an ETIAS travel permit. No exact date has been announced.

What is an ETIAS travel permit?

The ETIAS travel permit is a visa waiver, similar to the US Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) visa waiver. All visitors (ie, those who do not need a visa) are expected to present an ETIAS permit when traveling to any of the Schengen Area countries.

ETIAS visa waivers are allowed for three years, and allow participants to enter the Schengen Area for periods of up to 90 days within 180 days.

How do I apply for an ETIAS travel permit?

To apply for an ETIAS travel permit, you will need to have a valid passport, website information, and the type of money to pay the fee.

The price of an ETIAS has not been announced (but you can check back here if it is). Travelers will have to pay for the cost of ETIAS when they complete their online application.

In addition to the fee, travelers will be required to provide personal information, and answer questions about the country they intend to enter and public health concerns, to report to false stories, and to give information if they have been previously rejected. entered and ordered to leave a member state.

Applications should take about 10 minutes to complete, and most applicants will receive their approval within minutes.

What countries do I need an ETIAS travel permit to enter?

You need an ETIAS to visit a member country of Europe’s Schengen Area.

Currently, it includes Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal , Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland, as well as the microstates of San Marino, Vatican City, and Monaco.

At the time of publication, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus were in the process of joining the Schengen Area. Once approved, travelers will be required to have an ETIAS travel agent to visit those countries.

For the author

Amanda Wowk

Amanda Wowk is a freelance writer, founder Amanda Wowk Creative – a freelance writing services company – and a tour guide. She has experience in the travel industry, supporting clients with travel technology, quality travel, and customers. While not helping customers tell their stories, Amanda writes about her own experiences to encourage others to travel as far, wide and often as possible. .

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.